Four Deputy Commissioner-Generals reshuffled

Online Desk |  5 months ago | local

Police has reshuffled its four Deputy Commissioner-Generals as part of its policy of enhancing performance and the need to meet new policing demands as the country gears for Vision 2030.

Deputy Comm-Gen Stephen Mutamba was reassigned from operations to administration while Deputy Comm-Gen Mind Elliot Ngirandi from crime to human resources.

Deputy Comm-Gen Learn Ncube will now head the Police Services operations from administration while Deputy Comm-Gen Lorraine Chipato was moved to crime from human resources.

In a statement, national police spokesperson Assistant Commissioner Paul Nyathi confirmed the developments.

The Zimbabwe Republic Police recently underwent a major transformation in 2018 as it adopts a new structure and rebrands to win back public confidence.   


In 2019, the Police Service Commission (PSC) then approved a new Zimbabwe Republic Police structure that abolished the rank of senior assistant commissioner and replaced it with that of Commissioner of Police.

The new rank of Commissioner of Police is different from the rank of commissioner that existed in the previous structure.

The ZRP rank hierarchy under the new structure started from constable to sergeant, sergeant-major, assistant inspector, inspector, chief inspector, superintendent, chief superintendent, assistant commissioner, Commissioner of Police, Deputy Commissioner-General and then Commissioner-General.

The three by then were Senior Assistant Commissioners Mind Elliot Ngirandi, Learn Ncube and Lorraine Chipato.